10 thoughts on “The Feudalisation of the Internet

  1. Your explanation of walled Gardens and Stacks is written really well, its very easy to understand and in depth. I love your info-graphic i did a similar style infographic. I compared the original medieval style feudal system with current modern hiearchical structures.
    Nice blog! đŸ™‚

  2. Hi Jacob,
    I really like your info graphic, I now have a much better understanding of the main topics surrounding this week’s lecture. It would have also been excellent if you had included an explanation of the stack which Mitew (2014) explained as vertically integrated walled gardens such as Google and Apple.
    Your post also reminded me to research facts based around metadata, I really cringe at the idea of how much data Google has on me or some would say over me.
    Great post, keep up the engaging work!

  3. Hey! Great infographic, I like how it makes a clear comparison between traditional feudalism and iFeudalism.
    Interesting points about metadata – we often forget that we are giving these companies this data and they are using it for their own benefit. We are valuable for the data we give them.
    My only suggestion would be maybe in future try to draw out some of the arguments from the lecture with your own thoughts in more detail, maybe including other examples of your own. This will allow for better discussion in the comments.
    But overall great post đŸ™‚

  4. This was a very clear and concise post Jacob, you definitely set out a clear understanding of the topic which is very easy to follow. I like how your infographic was sort of set out in chronological order so that we can see the development of Walled Gardens and compare that to the history of feudalism. Your points about metadata are interesting but also scary haha, it genuinely worries me the things that I have put out into the internet since I have been using it from such a young age. I also like your last paragraph which sort of sets up a personal aspect and allows the reader to connect it all to themselves.
    The only suggestion I have is to perhaps explain what the stack is a little bit more, just because you mentioned it in your infographic without explaining what it is, which may confuse readers who are not part of DIGC202. Otherwise, really well done đŸ™‚

  5. The information snippets summarising the main terms is a great idea, but I feel that you failed to expand on any information past that. I can see that all of your references are to the lecture, I would suggest that you do some research and explore topics. Remember most people reading would be other DIGC202 students, who have already viewed the lecture thus this is reiterating what was already said. That being said you do summarise the lecture really well, but there needed to be further research. Can I suggest starting here http://bds.sagepub.com/content/1/2/2053951714541861 it covers the big topics, as well as expanding on them.

  6. Hi Jacob,

    The infographic used was really clear in explaining the key topics of 14th – 15th Century Feudalism in general and how this correlates with iFeudalism and similarly with the concept of The Manor and in turn the iManor. Perhaps a few images may have further assisted in helping to explain these concepts. To further develop your post, perhaps you could have gone into some more detail on the notion of ‘Stacks’ in regards to the extent of information that is being collected and aggregated from our use of their sites – particularly how this ‘information exchange’ is totally unequal.

  7. While reading your post, the main criticism I thought to give was to define the notion of stacks. Now reading previous comments, I realise many others have thought the same!

    By referring so metaphorically to feudal lords, walled gardens, I feel your text post is quite abstract and may lose some readers (mainly outside of the subject). You made many claims and it would be great to see evidence. In saying this, I think your infographic is the more successful part of this post. It was much clearer in comparing the old feudalism to the new.

  8. You’ve summarised the topic well but I’m interested in your thoughts on why, if we are being controlled by the iFeudal, do we continue to work under them? Let’s take some of the examples you mentioned like Google and Facebook. Is it just that everyone else uses them or is there a deeper reasoning? If you were aware of this theory beforehand do you think you would still enter?

  9. Hey, I really liked your infographic – it looked good, it was easy to read, and it also explained and compared 14th – 15th Century Feudalism and iFeudalism. Your points about metadata were also a really scary reminder that all my data that I have put on the Internet since I started using it (probably 2007) is there to stay – something that makes me feel nauseous. Overall good work!

  10. Your explanations and examples are written well and to the point which made it easy for me to understand
    Your blog was easy to read however I would of liked to read more on your thoughts about Ifeudalism.

Leave a Reply

